Wednesday 25 January 2017

Anarchist Militia in the Spanish Revolution

The Malatesta Battalion, formed of exiled Italians, many women and men who were veteran anti-Fascist fighters from the Arditi del Popolo, and who gave their lives in June 1937 in the defence of Basque Country from 65,000 Spanish Falangists and 25,000 Italian Fascists backed by the Nazi Condor Legion's bombers.

The anarchist militia of the Spanish Revolution are usually reduced by historians to only the Durruti Column, Ascaso Column, Land and Freedom Column, and Iron Column, but as this nearly-complete list shows, the phenomenon of the working class under arms was phenomenally widespread. "Confederal Milita" are those of the CNT-FAI-FIJL (or CNT-FAI-JJLL in Catalonia), while "Syndicalist Militia" are those of the Syndicalist Party. Note that I am *excluding* regular Republican Army units dominated by anarchists (though I indicate where anarchist columns were later militarised as part of that Army), or units formed by the Confederation and its allies but consisting primarily of professional soldiers, civil guards etc. I have also not indicated the four international centuries formed within the Durruti Column, the one formed within the Iron Column, the one within the Land and Liberty Column, and the one within the Ascaso Column, but do list the International Battalion in Basque Country as it was a free-standing reserve unit.

- Confederal Militia, Asturias [mil]: CNT Battalion No.1
                                                       CNT Battalion No.2
                                                       CNT Battalion No.3
                                                       CNT Battalion No.4
                                                       CNT Battalion No.5
                                                       CNT Battalion No.6
                                                       CNT Battalion No.7
                                                       CNT Battalion No.8
                                                       Galicia Battalion 
- Confederal Militia, Basque Country [mil]: 1st Battalion of Engineers
                                                                    Bakunin Battalion (no.65)
                                                                    Celtic Battalion (No.30)
                                                                    CNT-FAI Battalion
                                                                    Durruti Battalion (No.51)
                                                                    Freedom Battalion
                                                                    International Battalion
                                                                    Isaac Puente Battalion (No.11))
                                                                    Malatesta Battalion (No.36)
                                                                    Sacco-Vanzetti Battalion (No.12)    
- Confederal Militia, Aragon  [mil]: Aguiluchos Column, later 125th Mixed Brigade
                                                      Alpine Battalion
                                                      Ascaso Column, later 125th Mixed Brigade
                                                      Durruti Column, later 26th Division
                                                      Kropotkin Battalion, JJLL
                                                      Land and Freedom Column, later 153rd Mixed Brigade
                                                      Red and Black Column, later 127th Mixed Brigade
                                                      Sur-Ebro Column
- Confederal Militia, Centre [mil]: Bakunin Battalion
                                                    Espartacus Battalions (x4), later 77th Mixed Brigade 
                                                    Ferrer Battalion
                                                    Free Spain Column, later 70th Mixed Brigade
                                                    Juvenil Libertario Battalion
                                                    Orobón Fernández Battalion
                                                    Palacios Column
                                                    Sigüenza Battalion
                                                    Toledo Battalion
- Confederal Militia, Valencia [mil]: CNT No.13
                                                       Confederal Column No.2
                                                       Iberia Column, FAI-FIJL, ex CH
                                                       Iron Column (CH), later 83rd Mixed Brigade
                                                       Malatesta Division, ex CH
                                                       Torres-Benedito Column
- Confederal Milita, West and South [mil]: Alcoy Battalion
                                                                   Andalusia-Extremadura Column (CAE)
                                                                   Andrés Naranjo Battalion
                                                                   Ascaso No.1 Battalion
                                                                   Ascaso No.2 Battalion
                                                                   Bujalance Sparrows Century, later CAE
                                                                   CEFA Column
                                                                   Fermín Salvochea Battalion, later CAE
                                                                   Juan Arcas Battalion, later CAE
                                                                   Makhno Battalion
                                                                   Pancho Villa Battalion, later CAE
                                                                   Pedro López Battalion 
                                                                   Raya Battalion 
                                                                   Sebastian Faure Battalion 
                                                                   Zimmerman Battalion, later CAE                            
- Syndicalist Militia [mil]: Jaime Cubedo Battalion (Valencia)
                                       Syndicalist Battalion (Asturias)